Scritto di Gubbio
For centuries contested by the neighbouring city of Perugia and the Church, the medieval town of Fratta was renamed Umbertide in 1863 in honour of the then Crown Prince Umberto. Situated in the low Tiber valley in the point where the rivers Tiber and Reggia unite, Umbertide is one of Umbria's largest towns and also one of the flattest.
Erected in the late 14th century, Umbertide's Rocca justly dominates the town. Characterised by its 4 towers, one of which 40 meters high, the castle is now home to a Center of Contemporary Art. The Town Museum is located within the walls of the Church of Santa Croce, and it is here that Signorelli's Deposition of Christ can be admired.
Umbertide is home to a number of interesting houses of worship, the most important of which being the Church of Santa Maria della Reggia, also referred to as the Collegiata. Built in the 16th century, the church was constructed on an octagonal plan and surmounted by an impressive dome. Not far from Umbertide, we find the Castle of Civitella Ranieri. Constructed in the late 15th and early 16th century, the four-towered fortress is considered to be one of the best preserved medieval castles in the whole of Umbria.